view current print edition




FPFC to announce 2010 board of directors at annual dinner dance

by | December 22, 2009
LA MIRADA, CA -- The Fresh Produce & Floral Council will introduce the new 2010 board of directors to its membership at the annual FPFC dinner dance Jan. 30 at the Westin Long Beach. More than 600 produce and floral professionals are expected to be in attendance for an "Escape to Casablanca" themed evening that will feature roulette tables, a cigar lounge and a new dance band, Splash!

Along with dancing, prize giveaways and other fun, the evening serves as the formal induction of the new chairman and directors. While the new board members will officially begin their terms Jan. 1, the gavel will pass between 2009 Chairman Ken Ewalt of Ready Pac Produce and 2010 Chairman Patty Knoll of Temkin International during the dinner dance program. Mr. Ewalt will remain on the board as the immediate past chairman. Jeff Miller of Westlake Produce will serve as the 2010 chairman-elect, and new Director Rick Cruz of Vons/A Safeway Co. will serve as treasurer.

Liane Mast of Stater Bros. Markets will serve as the past chairman representative, and Harland Heath will remain as honorary past chairman representative. Carissa Mace will continue to serve as chief staff officer and president of the council.

In addition to the executive committee, the rest of the board of directors will be introduced at the Jan. 30 event. They are Mark Carroll of Gelson's/Mayfair Markets, Mike Casazza of Apio Value Added, Greg Corrigan of Raley's Supermarkets, Dan DeLaRosa of Ralphs Grocery Co., Alice Grazziani of Bristol Farms, Kent Kuwata of Smart & Final Corp., Wes Liefer, Pura Vida Farms; Brad Martin, Perimeter Sales & Merchandising; Mike O'Leary of Boskovich Farms, Marvin Quebec of Quebec Distributing Co., Tracy Ramirez of Ralphs Grocery Co., Roger Schroeder of Stater Bros. Markets and Rich Van Valkenburg of Deminski, Van Valkenburg & Associates.

As part of the introduction of the new board, the council will also recognize the following retiring directors: Raul Gallegos of Bristol Farms, Vince Choate of Hollandia Produce, Debi Duffin of Litehouse Inc. and Neil Swanson of Acosta Sales & Marketing.