view current print edition




California avocado industry elects new board leadership

by | December 14, 2009
IRVINE, CA -- Don Reeder was elected chairman of the California Avocado Commission at its November board of directors meeting, Ohannes Karaoghlanian will serve as vice chairman, with Bradley Miles as secretary and Ben Holtz as treasurer.

The elections filled five member positions and two handler positions this year. The commission board members serve two-year terms with the new members joining eight members already seated.

"I'm looking forward to working with the new CAC board," Mr. Reeder said in a Dec. 15 press release. "The California avocado industry is forecasting a solid crop this coming season, and our primary focus will be to encourage avocado demand when our fruit is at its peak of availability and quality."

California Department of Food & Agriculture representative Dennis Manderfield presided over the election of the board officers and presented a plaque of recognition to outgoing CAC board Chairman Rick Shade.

"The CDFA recognizes the achievement of Rick Shade in his role as chairperson for the California Avocado Commission," Mr. Manderfield said in the release. "Shade and the California Avocado Commission have provided outstanding service to the industry during his tenure as chair these past two years, especially in addressing the issues reported in the CDFA audit to CDFA's satisfaction."